Each year, the awards committee of the Henry Ford Heritage Association presents two distinctive awards for books or journalism to deserving honorees who, in the committee's opinion, have best exemplified the ideals set down in the HFHA mission statement:

"To foster interest in the life and accomplishments of Henry Ford, and to preserve and interpret the landmarks associated with his life".

The HFHA Book Award and the HFHA Literary Award are presented at the annual HFHA - Henry Ford Birthday Celebration Dinner which takes place in July.

Henry Ford Heritage Association has the opportunity to present one book award to the newly published book we feel best embodies Henry Ford’s story. Candidate books can center on Henry Ford, his family, or his accomplishments. The award is presented at our annual dinner in July and the author is encouraged to be present and to offer the book for signing and sale. The author or publisher is permitted to use our logo and year of the award as part of their advertising and on the cover of the book. If you are interested in submitting a book to be considered for this award please download the HFHA – Book Award Application and follow the instructions.


BOOK AWARD: Thomas Hager – Electric City: The Lost History of Ford and Edison’s American Utopia Thomas Hager


BOOK AWARD: No Book Award this year!


BOOK AWARD: Peggy Thomas – Full of Beans: Henry Ford Grows a Car


BOOK AWARD: Randy Hotton, Michael W.R. Davis – Willow Run – Images of Aviation


Book Award: Donn Werling & Rick Meader – Landscape Architect for the Fords.&You


Book Award:    Chris Pendleton, Mike Cosden & Brent Newman – Edison and Ford in Florida


Book Award: A. J. Baime – The Arsenal of Democracy: FDR, Detroit, and an Epic Quest to Arm an America at War


Book Award: Dr. Jessie Swigger – “History Is Bunk”: Assembling the Past at Henry Ford’s Greenfield Village

2015 HFHA Awards Press Release


Book Award: Joan Schultz – An Unheralded Education: Learning by Doing in Henry Ford’s Greenfield Village Schools

2014 HFHA Awards Press Release


Book Award: Michele Wehrwein Albion – The Quotable Henry Ford


Book Award: Jennifer Czerwick-Ganem – Dearborn Inn (Images of America)


Book Award: Phillip W. Stewart for Henry Ford’s Moving Picture Show Volume One


BOOK AWARD: Tim O’Callaghan – Ford in the Service of America: Mass Production for the Military During the World Wars


BOOK AWARD: Howard Seagal


BOOK AWARD: Wayne State University Press
LITERARY AWARD: The HFHA Literary Award was not presented in 2008


BOOK AWARD: The HFHA Book Award was not presented in 2007
LITERARY AWARD: The HFHA Literary Award was not presented in 2007


BOOK AWARD: The HFHA Book Award was not presented in 2006
LITERARY AWARD: Steven Watts – The People’s Tycoon: Henry Ford and the American Century


BOOK AWARD: Mr. Joe Cabadas (rt) , recipient of the 2005 HFHA Book Award for his book:
River Rouge: Ford’s Industrial Colossus


LITERARY AWARD: Crain’s Detroit Business , recipient of the 2004 HFHA Literary Award, for coverage of Ford Motor Company’s 100 years. Accepted by Keith Crain.
BOOK AWARD: Mr. Douglas Brinkley , recipient of the 2004 HFHA Book Award for his book:
Wheels for the World: Henry Ford, His Company, and a Century of Progress


LITERARY AWARD: The HFHA Literary Award was not presented in 2003
BOOK AWARD: Mr. Ford R. Bryan, for his sixth book: Friends, Families & Forays: Scenes from the Life and Times of Henry Ford.


LITERARY AWARD: Mr. Thomas McCarthy for his article entitled, Henry Ford, Industrial Ecologist or Industrial Conservationist? Waste Reduction and Recycling at the Rouge. Published in the Fall 2001 issue of the MICHIGAN HISTORICAL REVIEW.
BOOK AWARD: Tim O’Callaghan, for his book entitled: The Aviation Legacy of Henry & Edsel Ford. published in 2000


LITERARY AWARD: Mr. Phil Llewellin, Oswestry, England for his article entitled, After Henry: Touring Michigan In Search of reminders of Henry Ford, His Work and His Family. Special supplement to AUTOMOBILE MAGAZINE- ELEVEN JOURNEYS IN SEARCH OF THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY’S PAST.